The Father Nabih


13/4/2006

The life-changing day that held maybe the most sorrowful moment in my whole life.
I still remember it as if it was yesterday. It was early in the morning, I was in my room doing my maths homework. My two young brothers had left for school like an hour ago and he was awake at that time. I still remember my mom shouting my name from the other end of our home. That awkward neutral feeling of not knowing the gravity of what’s happening…
Not even knowing what is really happening to know its gravity…
and subsequently not knowing how to react or help!

and as usual…I don’t grasp the gravity of things right after their happening, things tend to haunt me as time passes…which sucks!

Anyways, it all seems so distant now. Distant from how things are now…
I’m not whom I used to be back then, my brothers, my mother…everything!
It has all changed, and I can’t tell if they had changed for the better or worse but…I’m glad I still have them. And the mere thought of losing any of them just scares the crap out of me, it’s unthinkable. I’m grateful they’re here, that we’re still together, that we’re still going…

There’s a fact I have mentioned to a very few people, that I consider this day as one of the best things that happened to me. As I recall the person I was before it, I see a really narrow minded kid. Smart or clever as I was constantly told and treated. I enclosed myself with the things I’m good at, which wasn’t very much after all…

It was a turning point in my life, and no matter how bad I’d wish it didn’t happen. I do think I won’t be the same I am today. In some ways I could be better, and in other ways I’d be worse…

When I try to think of the things that my father used to tell me, as advice or wishes of his, I don’t remember any. The closest thing is that he always used to tell me and my brothers to take care of each others and take care of our mother too. That’s when he used to get “so sick he’d die” like he used to say.

He always told me to get out of the house, because I rarely left home. All my activities were indoors and seldom include people. You can say I was a lonely introvert. And you can tell I still am…but I think it’s something I’ve done some progress at…and it pleases me =)

So Thank you for that advice Dad =)

Amongst thousands of stuff…

Posted on April 14, 2012, in Everything. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great one Nabih!… U r an introvert..not a lonely one 😀 u sure have done a lot progress with ppl!! A LOT!
    May Allah bless his soul 🙂 and bless u and all ur family 🙂

  2. Truly touched my heart 😦 Seems like it brought bad memorries 2 my mind but still reliefed me somehow… May Allah grant him Ferdaws and keep ur family together forever…

Leave a Reply

