#8 Alternate history


Go back in time to an event you think could have played out differently for you. Let alternate history have its moment: tell us what could, would or should have happened?

………*blank*……….

I tried to think about the many things I’ve thought to have gone wrong in the past, and take just one thing I’d want to change. But I’d like to remind myself first before anything else that:

لم يكن بالامكان أفضل مما كان

This is just an imaginative vision, not about what could’ve been. Because I cannot imagine what could’ve been objectively. It will end up looking better than what I may have now, but I’m pretty sure that for a full picture to exist, there must be other setbacks to this vision I can’t be aware of from where I stand now and of course, some of the good things I have now wouldn’t exist if I had lead a different path back then.

Things happen for a reason, others just happen. Shit happens too; actually shit happens more than you want it to, because you don’t want it to. Use that to your favor, try not to make mistakes. And if you have to, make new mistakes. Make the old mistakes rot and die of neglection and disregard. Learn from everything that happened, happens and will happen to you, whether it’s good or bad.

Learn to appreciate both, the ups and the downs; because that’s the way you can always push yourself forward, fearless of the unknown, careless of what could’ve been.

Posted on November 26, 2012, in NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

