Mr. Mentor


Day 9: Do you have a mentor? Tell us about him or her. Are you a mentor to someone else? Tell us what that relationship has added to your life.

Do I have a mentor? hmmmm…

If you’re asking for a mentor in the form of a person, I don’t have one. But I’ve always been mentored by life, that’s my situational reference, that is my go-to place for advice. The situations, the previous experiences, the messiness of it are what taught me the most. It might sound a bit cliché, since it’s been heavily used in movies and TV shows here in Egypt.

“أنا الحياة علمتني حاجات لا يمكن تتعلمها في مدرسة”

Am I a mentor? Yes, I guess. I have two younger brothers, 4.5 and 7 years difference. I’ve been school mentoring them for years. Not full-time mentoring, only the things they need help with. We’re pretty independent. Might give advice every once in a while but not too interfering or invasive.

I also worked as an assistant Mathematics teacher for a couple of months. That would count as professional mentoring, right? Well if felt so. I took to work the mentoring attitude I used with my brothers, treating them as equals not from a higher level. Not dictating advice or recommendations but reaching a conclusion together, their input with my processing to reach a mutual conclusion. Not every student is expecting such attitude from a position like mine so I had to learn to be strict at times and dictate direct orders and use the “or else” phrase. I basically took home mentoring to work and ended up taking work mentoring home 😀

and I’m still learning

Posted on November 9, 2013, in NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

